Modi-wave in Odisha panchayat elections

Odisha Panchyat Election
Odisha Panchyat Election

In 2004-05, the Tendulkar Committee put Odisha as the poorest state in the country with the maximum proportion of poor at 57.2%. The Naveen Patnaik-led BJD government was in government for 5 years at the time. In May 2014, a committee headed by former RBI Governor Raghuram Rajan proposed an index of backwardness of a region based on per capita consumption expenditure, education, health, household amenities, poverty rate, female literacy, percentage of the Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe population, urbanisation rate, financial inclusion and physical connectivity. And Odisha still stays in the top as the most backward state in the country. Naveen Patnaik had been the Chief Minister of the state for 14 years at the time.

The Panchayat elections which were conducted in Odisha in 5 phases saw BJP grabbing 71 seats in the first phase. 360-odd zila parishad seats — results of which have been unofficially announced so far – the BJP has won about 130, a little more than one thirds. The BJD is still ahead with more than 200 seats while the Congress has won 27 seats. Pujari said that people voted for a symbol. And BJP did not have a face in Maharashtra or Haryana and still won with an absolute majority. Besides, for years we had been in no position to win the times and hence there was no point in having a face, he says. But to quote Bob Dylan, “Times are a Changin” and BJP has finally caught sight of the last fortress they need to conquer.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s gave congratulatory message at an election rally at Kannauj.

Even Union petroleum minister Dharmendra Pradhan, referring to the ruling Biju Janata Dal.



3,089 total views, 1 views today

Related Post